Sinopia News Top

Ethiopia to Build 11 New Public Universities

Ethiopia decided to build 11 public universities across the country that will be administered by the Ministry of Education (MoE).

The announcement was made during a discussion between Higher Education Relevance and Quality Agency (HERQA) and one of House of Peoples’ Representatives’ (HPR) standing committees, Higher Education Affairs Standing Committee.

The universities to be built are namely; Deberk, Enjibara, Raya, Mekedella Amba, Tulu Awla, Dembi Dollo, Selale, Bonga, Werabe and Jinka universities.

Explaining to the Committee Kaba Urgessa (Dr.), State Minister for Education, said the first phase construction of the universities would be completed by the coming year and the universities would enroll students a year later.

After 4 years the new universities are projected to enroll a total of 77,000 students.

Source: Fana Broadcasting Corporate